Rogue Voodoo Doughnut Bacon Maple Ale

(Always drink responsibly.  Seek help when alcohol affects your life and the lives of those around you.  For readers of a legal drinking age.)

bacon maple ale

bacon maple ale

Rogue seems to have become one of my favorites.  Browsing through my Specialty Brews posts, I realized that many feature this Oregonian brewery that is known for not using chemicals, additives, or preservatives in its ales, lagers, porters, and stouts.  Bacon Maple Ale is one of two collaborations between Rogue and Voodoo Doughnuts, a place Zach and I have wanted to visit for a while now.  In the meantime, this (and the Chocolate, Peanut Butter and Banana Ale) will satisfy our curiosity of Voodoo’s concoctions.  As a beer this stands at an inviting 5.6% ABV and pleasant 30 IBU.  As a tribute to a signature doughnut, the balance between natural maple and smoky applewood bacon flavors is spot on.  The smell is as intoxicating as the taste, with a deep maple essence that is nothing like Auntie Jumimah, blended with an authentic smokiness.  I like beer to be bitingly cold, but I imagine that if I let this one get close to room temperature, the natures of the flavors and aromas would be even more pronounced, like a fresh doughnut would be.

Posted on September 20, 2013, in Specialty Brews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have been pondering trying this beer for awhile, I think you convinced me to give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

