Rogue Dead Guy Ale

(Always drink responsibly.  Seek help when alcohol affects your life and the lives of those around you.  For readers of a legal drinking age.)

dead guy ale

dead guy ale

In the 1990s, Rogue produced Dead Guy Ale especially for a private tap in commemoration of Día de los Muertos (Mexican All Souls Day on November 1).  The brew gained such popularity in Rogue’s native Oregon, that they decided to market it for the rest of us.  It comes in 22 oz. bottles and six packs, but I’ve had this boot for a while, waiting for a big enough beer to fill it.  Imagine my delight upon spotting the half-gallon growler of Dead Guy Ale at BevMo!  Of course, drinking this all at once is not my goal.  I really just liked the boot when I saw it, so I got it and it’s been anticipating a night like tonight.  It was Back to School Night and I met dozens of wonderfully supportive parents, but after 15 hours at school today, I think I deserve a beer.  This one has 6.5% ABV and 40 IBU, so it’s not as strong or bitter as I usually like, but I appreciate the well-balanced malts.  There is the faintest fruitiness to the flavor, so I bet that the brewery’s recommendations of pairing this with a pork or hot n’ spicy meal are spot on.

Posted on September 12, 2013, in Specialty Brews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

