Ale Industries Fall Down Brown

(Always drink responsibly.  Seek help when alcohol affects your life and the lives of those around you.  For readers of a legal drinking age.)

fall down brown

fall down brown

Back in the saddle again.  I returned to school today for inservice meetings and training before classes begin on Wednesday.  It didn’t feel like a long day while working at school, but once I got home I was beat.  This bottle of Fall Down Brown from Ale Industries was in the fridge, so on a day like today, I felt justified in being a bit lazy.  Zach and I had intended on covering a restaurant tonight, but I need to recuperate after getting up before dawn for the first time in over two months.  Believe me, I’m ready to get up and do it again tomorrow and for another 180+ days of the coming school year, but it was a rough start today.

This brown ale, a Fall seasonal with 8.25% ABV and 28 IBU, is brewed with smoked pumpkin.  Despite the illustrated pumpkins and the description on the label, I couldn’t immediately place pumpkin in the profile.  I guess that’s because I was expecting the sweetness associated with pumpkin dishes that are usually dessert.  The sweetness here, though very mild, was from malt more so than pumpkin, since the smokiness toned down the earthy gourd.  All in all this beer tastes dark and fruity with a smoky quality, like the smells of Fall with mulch, rain, and fireplaces.  Now that the school year has begun, I anticipate the Fall, my favorite season, so this was the perfect beer for me to ring in the new (academic) year.

Posted on August 12, 2013, in Specialty Brews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

