Ninkasi Oatis & Vanilla Oatis

(Always drink responsibly.  Seek help when alcohol affects your life and the lives of those around you.  For readers of a legal drinking age.)

oatis x 2

oatis x 2

I am eating an ice cream sundae while sipping and ruminating on the flavors of two oatmeal stouts by Ninkasi.  Both of the beers are dark, rich, creamy, almost chocolatey, and clock in at 7.2% ABV and 50 IBU.  If Zach hadn’t already made me the sundae, these two brews easily could have been dessert.  The original Oatis, which debuted in 2007, was like a bitter chocolate bar to me, while the younger sibling of two years Vanilla Oatis was sweeter and a tiny bit maltier.  I don’t know if I would call the sweetness vanilla or simply malt, but there is definitely a prominent difference between the two flavors.  Coincidentally, my sundae is vanilla ice cream with chocolate sauce, and browsing the Ninkasi website to do research, I found recipes using the company’s beers.  The first one on the list is for an ice cream syrup made with Vanilla Oatis, and I think I might ask Zach try to make it for me.  With a base as good as Ninkasi beer, I’m sure the syrup would be delicious.

Posted on July 13, 2013, in Specialty Brews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

