Pinkus Hefe-Weizen

(Always drink responsibly.  Seek help when alcohol affects your life and the lives of those around you.  For readers of a legal drinking age.)

hefe-weizen

hefe-weizen0

I’ve been on summer vacation for two weeks now, but today was one of my first days of doing nothing.  That, doing nothing, is vacation to me!  Well, of course I don’t mean absolutely nothing, but rather nothing that is any sort of responsibility or that carries a consequence.  One of my favorite “nothing” activities is reading, and I have dozens of books that I had been stockpiling through the school year, waiting for my two months free of grading papers.  I just cracked the spine of a new book, and cracked open this beer to sip with the first chapter. Pinkus Brewery, founded in 1816 in Münster, Germany, is currently being managed by the fifth and sixth generations of the family who started it.  Committed all this time to organic ingredients and now certified organic by the USDA, it is also the only remaining traditional brewery out of Münster’s original 150.  Upon sight and taste, I was impressed and can see why it has withstood the test of time.  The head was creamy on top of a vibrant yellow brew, almost neon actually.  The flavor was so crisp and refreshing, I thought it danced along the line of sweetness.  It was heading towards sidra, it was so light and spritzy, but it did not have the strong mineral aftertaste.  At 5.1 ABV and unknown IBU, this is perfect for savoring slowly with an interesting read.

Posted on June 17, 2013, in Specialty Brews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

