Mikkeller Black

(Always drink responsibly.  Seek help when alcohol affects your life and the lives of those around you.  For readers of a legal drinking age.)

mikkeller black

mikkeller black

On first sight, I knew this beer was going to be something very different.  I just didn’t expect it to be so different.  Like the Drink in the Sun, this is an extreme from Denmark’s Mikkeller Brewery, but on the furthest end away from Drink in the Sun: Black is a stout with 18.1% ABV (and unknown IBU).  That is not a typo.  Eighteen flippin’ point one?  Yep.

science experiment

science experiment

From the start, I felt like I was partaking in a science experiment.  Just from cracking the top, the aroma escaped and it was like… nail polish remover.  I would have said paint thinner, but it was a little sweeter, like how nail polish remover is merely acetone with a bit of fragrance.  I smelled and dwelled on it as I waited for the head to settle, which took forever, and the result of that time was a crispy-looking froth that I could practically spoon out as if it were the top of a thick latte.  Once the waiting was over, I finally tried it and… the taste wasn’t far from the scent.  With such a high alcohol content, I felt like I could breathe fire with one sip.  To me, the alcohol was so overpowering that I could not get past it to appreciate the flavor; all I could gather about the flavor was that it was sweet.

I hate to admit this, but I could not finish the beer.  It almost makes me wonder, did I get a bottle from a bad batch?  Don’t get me wrong, if this is what it’s supposed to taste like then I don’t regret anything because it was an interesting experience.  And further, if this is what it’s supposed to taste like, then it’s simply not for me.

Posted on May 29, 2013, in Specialty Brews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

