Firehouse Grill & Brewery Hops On Rye

(Always drink responsibly.  Seek help when alcohol affects your life and the lives of those around you.  For readers of a legal drinking age.)

hops on rye 013

From Sunnyvale, CA comes Hops On Rye, an IPA by Firehouse Grill & Brewery with 7.5% ABV and 75 IBU.  Three kinds of hops give it that deep bitterness that I like in beer, while the rye malt provides a “slightly spicy finish.”  Okay, so that’s what the bottle says, but it’s what I thought myself before I read the description on the bottle (I sip before reading so that I can form my own unencumbered opinions).  The “spicy” that I noticed reminded me of cinnamon, but cinnamon has not a whole lot to do with rye as far as I know, so it must be something with the association of the trio of magnum, amarillo, and citra hops.  If you like an IPA with not a lot of flourish but still a little something to make it interesting, look up this.  It’s a very nice brew for an evening when you need to unwind.

Posted on May 14, 2013, in Specialty Brews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

