Heretic Brewing Co. Evil Twin Red Ale

(Always drink responsibly.  Seek help when alcohol affects your life and the lives of those around you.  For readers of a legal drinking age.)

(see the evil twin face reflecting in the glass?)

(see the evil twin face reflecting in the glass?)

Pittsburg is the unsuspecting home to Heretic Brewing.  Driving home from work today (now a longer drive but scenic and with little traffic, plus I get extra time to listen to NPR) I stopped by Monument Wine and Spirits, since I’m still not sure where a good beer source is in Oakland that is close to our new home.  We’ve been here a week now, and it’s like coming home to a palace!  It is surely not a mansion, but it’s the biggest house I’ve ever lived in so I feel some guilty pleasure in this luxury.  Because in this house I am enjoying pride, and a little bit of sloth, I suppose I’ve committed heresy, therefore it is all too appropriate that I pick up a Heretic Evil Twin on my way home.  The color was beautiful when poured in the sunlight streaming through the window.  The taste, at first, danced like sweet fruit but then turned more malty than bitter.  Granted, there was the bitterness from the strong hops in this red ale, but it was well balanced with the malt.  At 45 IBU and 6.8% ABV, it’s disturbingly easy to sip because the flavor kept me from putting it down for long.  It must be witchcraft!

Posted on April 9, 2013, in Specialty Brews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

