Hantverksbryggeriet Kosacken Imperial Stout

(Always drink responsibly.  Seek help when alcohol affects your life and the lives of those around you.  For readers of a legal drinking age.)

hantverksbryggeriet 004

I picked this beer today for a few reasons:

A. It’s St Patrick’s Day, and if you’re of age, you must drink beer.

B. The selection of truly Irish beer was limited but at least I got a stout.

C. I’m 1/4 Swedish.

Hantverksbryggeriet of Sweden began has a hobby in an apartment building basement not many years ago, but the two man operation since then has won awards for its enticing brews.  Kosacken, inspired by the coldness and darkness of Russia, is very dark, malty, and just a hint smoky.  When I poured it, I was surprised by a brown head it was that dark, with 7% alcohol by volume and I-don’t-know-enough-Swedish-to-decipher-the IBUs.  I imagine this to be an excellent dessert beer to sip with chocolate (I say “imagine” because there is no chocolate in the house, or else you know that’s what I’d be doing right now, nibbling chocolate and sipping Kosacken).  Glad Sanktt Patricks Dag!

Posted on March 17, 2013, in Specialty Brews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

