Mikkeller Beer Geek Brunch Weasel with Kopi Luwak

(Always drink responsibly.  Seek help when alcohol affects your life and the lives of those around you.  For readers of a legal drinking age.)

civet cat coffee beer 003

Mikkeller has been around since 2006, and with over 600 varieties of beer, I have no idea how it’s been off my radar all this time.  One of Zach’s friends recommended looking for this beer after we did our food fact post #3 on Facebook and Twitter about kopi luwak.  I found Mikkeller Beer Geek Brunch Weasel at Monument Wine & Spirits in Concord, where they have an excellent selection of brews; I will do several more this week, because there were some crazy finds that I had to get!  Anyway.  This beer has 10.9% alcohol by volume and comes in 8.5 oz bottles, so I bought two to fill my glass.  Let me tell you, just the fact that I get to say that I’ve had this kind of beer, in and of itself, is worth the price (around $14/bottle including tax).  This is a bitter beer, but not nearly one of the bitterest I’ve had.  The aftertaste is close to nil, so it’s fairly easy to sip.  There is a light richness to it because it is an oatmeal stout, so with the oatmeal and coffee working together, it is appropriately named with “brunch” in the title, implying a richly satisfying experience.  The coffee flavor is strong, since kopi luwak is strong in taste and aroma, so be prepared for the coffee kick that enhances the bitterness.  If it weren’t the price it is, I would probably get a bottle more often than once in a while; it is a true luxury brew.

Posted on March 3, 2013, in Specialty Brews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

