Brewery Ommegang Abbey Ale

(Always drink responsibly.  Seek help when alcohol affects your life and the lives of those around you.  For readers of a legal drinking age.)

fleming's 003

I was stumped when I saw this on the menu at Fleming’s last night.  I couldn’t even figure out how to pronounce it, and I’m a language teacher!  Naturally I had to try it.

Brewery Ommegang‘s Abbey Ale is somehow simultaneously light and complex.  At only 20 IBU but brewed with coriander, cumin, star anise, licorice root, and sweet orange peel, this is as refreshing as it is dark in a balance I had not experienced before.  I imagine it’ll be hard for me to find this beer it again (outside of Fleming’s), but you can bet I’m keeping my eyes peeled.

Posted on February 3, 2013, in Specialty Brews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

